Pumzi

I have a quest, to look for science fiction from around the world. I don’t want to be trapped by works from few selected countries. So I search. During The 2015 Sci-Fi Experience I have found and already watched Arabic short film Topaz Duo: Cosmic Phoenix.

I have found also a Kenyan science fiction short film titled Pumzi (Breath, in Swahili).

The film is set in post-apocalyptic world where people live underground, in self-sustainable recycled world. The ground is said to be dead… but Asha receives a strange soil sample. A soil that can help a plant to grow.

It’s only twenty minutes, but it’s a great 20 minutes. The world building was done finely. The possibility it might become truth, after all, is scary. I like the character of Asha. She’s a real strong woman. A believable character.

My opinion: 10/10.

Watch the film on Youtube or as a part of Africa First volume 1.

After you watch it, I recommend watching the interview with Pumzi’s director, Wanuri Kahui.

Leave a Reply

