Serial Experiments Lain review

During my talk with Carl about Almost Human, a police sf series, one of the topics was the length of the series. I recommended a classic Japanese animated TV series called Serial Experiments Lain. That triggered memories, and so, during The 2015 Sci-Fi Experience I rewatched the series.

The main heroine is Lain, a shy Japanese 8th grader who is not good with computers, but slowly gets pulled into Wired (Internet-like network).

If I had to describe it in one word, I’d be confused between “eerie” and “classics”.  It’s both. Weird. Great. Worth seeing. Still fresh. A journey inside psyche and the world. There is not one main focus, tho the focus is on Lain. It’s not a TV series that you can watch and forget. It’s not a simple story where all the questions are answered by the end. It’s a story that is questioning things. If you’d ever wanted to have a serious talk about science-fiction series, I suggest watching this one.

Except the plot and characters, I like the sound in SELain. The sounds/music in the series catch your attention. You pay attention to the background.

My opinion: 10/10. I recommend it to everybody, not only fans of science-fiction.

Did you connect with Lain? Will you connect with Lain?

6 thoughts on “Serial Experiments Lain review”

  1. Fun, you did a review/promotion of it! I’m looking forward to giving it a try and am thrilled that it is on Hulu, so I don’t have the agony of trying to track it down. I’ll keep my eyes and ears open to what is going on in the background while I watch it.

    1. Yeah, I had to. 😉 Hopefully you’ll like it. Have fun 🙂
      Too bad Hulu is only operating in US. We have agony of trying to hunt down any series.

  2. I connected with Lain :). SELain was the first anime series I ever watched, many years ago, and it is still one of my favorites. I think it is one of the most unusual series I have ever watched.

  3. You’ll be happy to know that the teenage daughter of one of my close friends loaned the series to me. He brought them by the house to me today, so hopefully I’ll be able to get started over this last week of vacation.

Leave a Reply

