Around the World: A to Z 2015 Reading Challenge

I invite you to take a part in my challenge Around the World: A to Z 2015 Reading Challenge. In short it’s a challenge on reading (at least) 12 books based on author’s country, in the A to Z order based on the name in official/national language.

You can join at any time, now or during the whole 2015 year. Continue reading to see the detailed rules.

Around the World: A to Z 2015 Reading Challenge Rules

  • The challenge starts on 1st January and ends on 31st December 2015.
  • You can join anytime, just write a comment below. You can leave the link to your blog, Goodreads etc. profile.
  • You have to read at least 12 books (1 book a month) written by an author from selected country.
  • A book is: a book (doesn’t matter the length) no matter the genre, it can be poetry or non fiction, comic, or even a short story written online. It can be audiobook, paper book, or e-book. The rule was made to help readers with getting their read.
  • Every month I’ll write down the rules (countries) for a given month. You can select any 1 country to read (or more, if you want).
  • The country of author depends on the birth/growing up factor, not on the ethnicity. So if a writer born (or growing up) in USA has for example South Korean parents, then still the author is considered an USA writer. If the writer moved to other country for studies, or moved in as an adult, you can treat them as the writer of country of origin.
  • The order of countries is based on the names of the country in official/national languages. For example Poland will be under “P” because the original name is “Polska”. “Montenegro” would be in “C” because in Montenegrin the country is called Crna Gora.
  • You have to finish reading all the books by 31st December 2015. You don’t have to read “July book” in July. You can take your time if you want.
  • Author, genre and the language of the book you can select by yourself.
  • Only unread (earlier) books will be valid.
  • You have to write down the book title/author you read under the monthly rules post (not depend on the time you finished). If you finish reading “February book” in April, write down the title/author as a comment under the February rules post. This will make it easier to find suggested readings.
  • You don’t have to write reviews. If you write a review, you can link it under the monthly rules post. This will make it easier for other readers to decide on the book.

 

Will you join me in this challenge?

9 thoughts on “Around the World: A to Z 2015 Reading Challenge”

  1. I don’t think I’ll participate officially, but I’ll certainly chime in when my reading happens to align with the right part of the alphabet. I like the idea of it being based on the country’s own name for itself. I’ve always found it odd that we have different names for some countries and cities than what they call themselves.

    1. I’m sure there is always a story that follow a “foreign” name. 🙂
      Too bad, but I hope we will be able to discuss some books. 🙂 Have fun with the reading.

  2. This sounds interesting and is quite different from any reading challenge I’ve ever joined. I want to join it but am not sure whether I can get the books that fit with your rule. How about, let say, when I can’t get a book from one particular country?

    1. Don’t worry, you will always find a “book”. Because you’ll choose one country from several selected, and because even if you don’t get a real book (including audiobook, ebook), you can get a comic (also online), read poems or a short story online. One short story is already called a book in the challenge, because I know it can be hard to get real books. It will be hard in Poland too, since there is not enough Polish translations. But I’m sure we can do it. 🙂

      1. I don’t like audiobook, it’s quite weird for me to read a book by hearing it 🙂 But I guess it might be because I’m not used to it. I’ll stick to real book, ebook and maybe comics for now, I think. So when I finish a book what should I do? tell you in your comment, post it on my blog or else?

        1. I don’t like audiobook either. 😀 After you finish a book you can write a review on your blog. If you read the January book, then finished it in February, you write a comment with author/title/country under my January post with rules. Of course, if you write a review, add a link when you comment.

    1. Thanks. 🙂 Great to see you joining the challenge. I’ll try searching up for some writers/poets too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

