Recently Watched Anime

Recently I have watched several anime. Actually I think I started watching series after re-watching Spiral: suiri no kizuna during my special May challenge – a month without USA/UK culture.

I’ve been watching anime for years, but I didn’t watch much in the last few months. Recently it has changed. I’ve been watching mainly fantasy or science-fiction anime.

Continue reading to learn more about these fantasy (Yondemasu yo, Azazel-san, Amatsuki) and science-fiction (Black Bullet, Sidonia no kishi, Broken Blade) TV series.

Yondemasu yo, Azazel-san

Title: よんでますよ、アザゼルさん

Anime for adults! Lots of sexual jokes, violence, etc.

Short episodes that should be about the private detective work, but instead revolves about demons and their summoners, especially Rinko Sakuma, detective (and summoner) Akutabe’s assistant.

Two seasons (episodes are around 12 mins) and 3 ova is too little. I want more!

My opinion: 9.5/10

Black Bullet

Title: ブラック・ブレット

A 2014 science-fiction anime. Tokyo 2031, from 10 years people fight with (parasitic) aliens invading the world. In the fight special children help them, girls carrying the genes of aliens which give them superhuman abilities.

Too short, too many plots left unfinished. Overall interesting anime, hard to tell exactly what’s missing. It’s not exactly following the manga.

My opinion: 8/10.

Sidonia no kishi

Title: シドニアの騎士

A 2014 science-fiction anime (with mecha) and another where people fight with aliens. The remains of people are living in big cities-spaceships.

When I was watching it some of the plot reminded me of Stanisław Lem’s Solaris, where people couldn’t communicate with the alien because it was so alien. I found some similarities with that book here in this anime. It’s obvious the creators were familiar with the works of this famous Polish science-fiction writer when I saw the… “Lem Star System”. Great anime despite some cliché.

My opinion: 8.5/10.

Broken  Blade

Original Title: ブレイク ブレイド

A 2014 science-fiction (with mecha) TV series. In the world where magic is common and fuels every machine, there is a guy who can’t use magic. But he has another special ability, only he can pilot the ancient mecha which can change the fate of war against the better armed invader army.

Nothing too original, full of cliché. It has good moments.

My opinion: 6/10.

Amatsuki

Title: あまつき

Japanese teenager gets to the Edo-style world (around 17th century). He gets attention from strange people… and demons… By some he is labelled a world’s saviour…

Nothing too special, tho it might be because it’s just a 13-episodes anime to a 18-volumes manga series (for now). Still, worth watching.

My opinion: 6/10.

Leave a Reply

