In the bookshops part 1

I went into two bookstores this week. One was a new/old (mainly sf/fantasy) books shop near the Central Station, the other one was culinary/children “Bookoff” shop with books in Polish and English (on Żelazna Street).

SF & War Books

Elizabeth Moon’s The Vatta’s War series

I’ll start from two books that I bought. Elizabeth Moon is an author from USA, a former marine’s lieutenant. You can count on the review, hopefully soon enough. I already read them, but I have the queue of books to review. 😀

Elizabeth Moon's Trading in Daner - Polish coverThese are Polish covers of “Trading in Danger” and “Marque and Reprisal” respectively. Two of three volumes that were published in Polish, from the five-volume series. I was told in the shop that there are only 3 volumes in the series and all were published inElizabeth Moon's Marque and Reprisal Polish cover Poland. Ummm… no, but I got to know that only at home. Luckily for me, the whole series in English can be borrowed from one of Warsaw’s libraries. 😉 And I bought the 2 books for less (20 zł) than the cover price of 1st volume (29,90 zł).

Both covers were done by Marek Nowakowski, a quite experienced illustrator in sf & fantasy themes, from what I found. But… I’m not pleased with the covers, especially the first one – which is very sexist.

There are some books that got me interested and I’ll keep them in mind to either read or buy later. One of them is:

Jakub Pawełek’s Wschodni Grom

Jakub Pawełek's Wschodni Grom cover

A new – published on 19.02.2014 book by a Polish author with a title meaning “The Eastern Thunder”.  A book about war between Russia and China over gas (Gazprom). The war is starting in March 2015. And Poland has to pick up a side in this war.

As a teenager I was drawn to the war themes, I could watch The Guns of Navarone countless times and then I got fed with the theme.

I read a short story about military fights in Andrzej Ziemiański’s Autobahn nach Poznań, but that would be all. Now, I’m drawn to the book about a full military campaign.

I was drawn to the book because of:

  • the title – GROM (Thunder) is also a Polish elite counter-terrorism unit;
  • the red star – immediately tells you it’s connected to communism and for a Polish – also to Russia;
  • the description on front cover how the China is launching the Third World War, immediately giving out the both sides of conflict;
  • the whole cover just looks great.

It also reminded me that I was thinking about reading “www.1939.com.pl” where a modern army unit gets back in time and helps Polish army in the September Campaign on WWII. 😉

The author of this cover is probably Mariusz Kozik. But I’d need to check the book to confirm it. You’ll hear about him, because from what I saw I love his illustrations.

Culinary Books

So… I went to that Bookoff culinary bookshop about which I once read in the press. I loved it. I was welcomed by a sweet but strong mango aroma (I liked it) and by a nice and knowledgeable young lady. She showed me books, we had a chat, about books, publishers, fairs and awards for authors/books. I’m quite sure that if I’d like to find a culinary (or children) book, I’ll first go there. Because you know… service matters in my opinion. Such bookshops should be “rewarded” for having a quality service.

Magdalena Tomaszewska-Bolałek’s Japońskie słodycze

Magdalena Tomaszewska-Bolałek's Japońskie słodycze - coverThe book is originally written in Polish. The title means “Japanese sweets”. It tells the history of Japanese sweets, the tastes and gives a bit of recipes for traditional Japanese sweets or Japan-inspired sweets, suggested by the author.

The book got nominated for the Gourmand World Cookbook Awards in 3 categories: a book on Japanese cuisine, a book on history of cuisine and a book on sweets. The winner will be announced during Beijing Cookbook Fair held on 19-21 May 2014. If it won’t win, then they don’t know what’s good. 😉

I browsed through the book and I loved it, both graphically and textually. I’m sure of one thing – I want this book. 😀 No buts, I’m gonna buy it. Or ask for a present. But I want it. ASAP. Btw, I think the cover is great! 😀

Charmaine Solomon’s The Complete Asian Cookbook

Charmaine Solomon's The Complete Asian Cookbook coverIf you’re a fan of Asian cuisine (and don’t want to limit yourself to one type of it) then I highly recommend this book! It’s full of information (including glossary of ingredients) and recipes (with photos) about classic and modern dishes from the following countries: India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Burma, Thailand, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, The Philippines, China, Korea and Japan.

I feel like I could start cooking more with it, lots of inspirations. Hopefully the ingredients wouldn’t be too hard to find in Poland. 😉 Tho the price is high I think it’s understandable… and worth it. Or… to save some money and the place on your bookshelves, you can get it also as an e-book. I think I’ll get e-book. 😉

Apparently Charmaine Solomon is a well known lady in Australia. She was nicknamed as “the queen of Asian cooking in Australia”.

What do you think of those books? Did you read any of them or plan to? How about the covers? 😉

Leave a Reply

